Ophe’s prayer

Τρία ποιήματα μιᾶς μακρινῆς φίλης, ἀπὸ τὸ μακρινὸ παρελθόν. Τὰ βρῆκα μετὰ ἀπὸ εἴκοσι καὶ πλέον χρόνια, κι ἀφοῦ μοῦ τὰ ἔδωσε, τὰ ἀναρτῶ.

 

Ophe’s Prayer

if i shut my eyes

there is no darkness

there is a circus of light and sound

laughter and music

kites and chimes dance

when i open my eyes

there is no darkness

just the echo on the wind

and the shadow of the moon

fading by my feet

 

 

(Untitled) sometime in 1999

 

If I could be a snowflake,

thought a little speck of dust,

I would enchant with my symmetry,

my infinite intricacies;

I would sting you with my icy beauty,

breaking your heart as I melt into a drop,

upon your touch…..

 

…or, if I could be a grain of sand,

refined into its essence

by the eons of ocean waves,

hard,

secure in the wisdom of ages…..

 

….or a diamond, even,

reflecting while transforming light,

a perfection of time and fire…..

 

…or maybe a pearl,

pure and white,

luminous from layers of oyster love…..

 

….ah well, wishes are not alchemy,

I am a speck of dust,

I am nothing…..

 

…there is hope, though…..

 

 

(written back in 1999)

Kibu

homeless, nameless

plucked

schmucked

defrocked, blocked, shell-shocked

No moon, no sky,

stranded, abandoned

yet, she stands

planted for eternity

certainly.

This entry was posted in ποίηση and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Σχολιάστε

